Check out the next Shakespeare

Online, Ramblings, Rants and Raves - 2 Comments » - Posted on May, 22 at 11:21 am

Okay, well maybe comparing myself to Shakespeare is a bit pretentious but I’m in a boastful mood right now.

Dear Joana,

After carefully reading and discussing your poem, our Selection Committee has certified your poem as a semi-finalist in our International Open Poetry Contest. Your poem will automatically be entered into the final competition held in June 2007. As a semi-finalist, you now have an excellent chance of winning one of 104 cash or gift prizes–including the $1,000.00 Grand Prize…

I signed up with FusionCash a while back, a site that pays you to complete offers, and one of the offers was to submit a poem to poetry.com. In high school I had a friend who always submitted his work and never won, never got picked. So on a whim I picked one of my poems at random, completed the offer, got paid, and thought no more of it. Imagine my surprise when I got this letter in the mail. To top it off my poem is going to be printed in a collection of poems entitled Immortal Verses. Now how cool is that?

Tagged: , , ,
Receive email notification of new entries?

Posted in Online, Ramblings, Rants and Raves | 2 Comments »

2 Comments

  1. Novitiate (10) Angie said,

    MyAvatars 0.2
       May 22, 2007 @ 2:17 pm

    If this is one of those situations where they will ask you to buy the book at a high price, it’s a scam. I used to enter all the poetry ones and photography ones. Everything I ever submitted was accepted, even the things I deliberately wrote to be terrible. And all it ever resulted in was a series of pleas to buy the book in which my work would be published and years and years of spam from them. :(

    If it is an altogether different thing, congrats.

  2. Goddess (1004) Joana said,

    MyAvatars 0.2
       May 22, 2007 @ 3:49 pm

    Angie: Well it does have the option to buy the book my poem will be published in, pricey too, but Poetry.com has been around for many years now so I don’t think it’s a scam per se.

RSS feed for comments on this post